Beauty / Beauty Boxes / Make Up

My First Glossybox – December Rose Gold Edit

So, here goes for my first ever blog. I have recently been loving using Instagram for posting about all things make up and beauty, but as it’s not the best place to give full reviews I thought a blog would be the way to go!

In focusing on my make up obsession of late I thought it would be great to try out a subscription beauty box as little treat to myself each month – as every girl deserves a little treat each month right?!

I did some research online about which company I thought would be most suitable to my likes and tastes and narrowed it down between Birchbox and Glossybox.

These two companies offer very similar packages and pricing so I did some searching around on Instagram to see what has been in previous boxes. However, Glossybox were teaming up with fabulous beauty blogger Really Ree to create a Rose Gold Edit for their December box – this won me over! I’m a massive rose gold fan and obsess over everything rose gold so I just had to sign up!

So there we go – Glossybox had reeled me in and I signed up to a monthly subscription of £10 a month plus postage. It didn’t take long to arrive and I was so excited to see what was in store for me, after of course I was admiring the stunning packaging it was put together in. So super cute!

IMG_6182

Inside it’s all wrapped in tissue paper wrapped around with a nude coloured ribbon and a beauty card to explain all the products inside….this was exciting!

IMG_6173These are the products I received:

IMG_6177
  • So Susan – Statement Skin Highlighter pencil

IMG_6211Now this was one of my fave pieces in the box for sure! It gives you the most gorgeous dewy glow. I’m a big fan of highlighters but nearly all mine are in powder compacts or the benefit  liquid high beam – so getting this pencil was great. It’s perfect size to highlight areas such as down the centre of your nose, highlighting the brows or cupids bow is ideal and I was really impressed with how beautiful this product is. At full price this is £15 so it’s a little more pricey than a lot of drugstore highlighters, but I think its will last well and I’m really happy to add it to my make up collection / highlighting obsession!

  • Collection – Long Lasting Nail Effects
IMG_6219
So Everyone likes a bit of glitz and sparkle over the festive period right?! Well this was a great addition to the box and although I usually use UV gel polish, I think this is a really pretty colour and perfect for the party season. I’m yet to use this to see how long it really does last for, but I do find glitter polishes tend to last longer than normal polishes are they have slightly more durability. I think this will be going on my toes at some point to add some glam with sparkly hues of pinks and purples. At £2.99 for a full size, I think this a good price for glamming up your talons!
  • Essence  – Liquid Lipstick in Show off
IMG_6208
I got this bright pink liquid lipstick from Essence which is a cute colour though not really my shade, I’m definitely more of a nude kinda gal but maybe this might encourage me to switch it up about as it’s not a colour I would usually reach for in a drugstore – but having recently discovered Essence as a brand (stumbled across their counter in wilko’s) I do actually really like their range of affordable makeup. I do have quite a few of their products and although I haven’t found the staying power to be there with some of their products, I still think they are a good evolving brand that offers affordable choices. Though maybe slightly more aimed at the teen market.
  • Starskin – Bi0-cellulose Second Skin Mask
IMG_6207
This was a full-sized product and a completely new face mask concept to me. Its called second skin as initially bio-cellulose was designed to be used as a second skin on burns victims. I used this mask while having a soak in the tub, and I have to say although it felt pretty odd at first I actually really liked it and thought it felt so nourishing. Each mask is soaked in 30ml of vitamin packed serum – the equivalent to a full bottle!
I had the calming one sent to me, and I know they had 4 available but the calming one great for my skin as my skin wasn’t feeling its best after an over indulgent festive period! Overall I really like this product. Would I but it again at £8.50 a pop? Hmm….not sure maybe as a treat one day I would but I would be really happy if anyone turned up in another glossybox.
  •  Etre Belle – Golden Skin Caviar Eye Roll On
IMG_6209.JPG
This is a new product and brand to me and I hadn’t come across it before. According to Really Ree the cooling gel will leave the most tired of peepers looking refreshed and radiant! So I shall be adding this to my skincare routine as with two young kids I need all the help I can get with refreshing my tired sleep deprived eyes!
At full size at £30.66 i’m hoping for good things from this product – time will tell on this one.
  • Hylamide – Pore DeleteIMG_6220.JPG
This is an instant fixer for enlarged pores. I do have some enlarged pores on my nose, so this is ideal for me. It’s a small little bottle but you only need a tiny amount. It will also mattify and blur as well as hide pores so this is a winner for me. Simply pat over your skin as the last step of your skin routine or use after foundation – I usually apply pore fillers before makeup so this is new to me but so far so good. Full size is £18 so pretty pricey again and not sure I would be willing to part with my cash for a full bottle!
So all in all, i’m super happy with my first glossybox and looking forward to my January box…..if it’s as good as this months I will be thrilled!
Follow me on Instagram for more beauty posts : dollyrockinbeauty
Thanks Dolls and see you on insta soon!  imagesPFDFZARF
Jo @ Dolly Rockin Beauty xxx
Leave a Reply

