Beauty Boxes

Glossybox May 2016 Glossy Getaway Box

This months box is dedicated to city breaks and there are four collectible boxes, London, Paris, New York and Berlin.

Following a really disappointing month from Glossybox last month, I’m really happy with this box and my faith has been restored! I think the variety of the selection of products this month is great and I will get good use out of at least 4 of the products.

This months box includes two full-sized make-up products as well as a moisturiser, hair bobbles and Hawaiian Tropic dry oil with an added little bonus pack of Propercorn Lightly Salted Popcorn (which was yummy)

Bee Good Youth Enhancing Plump and Firm Moisturiser – 15ml full size RRP £23.50
This moisturiser is suitable for all skin types including mature and ageing skin (happy days for me) and it moisturises to plump, smooth and soften your complexion leaving it dewy and glowing – use every morning and evening and let it work its little miracle. I haven’t fully tested this product yet as I seem to be working my way through a mountain of skincare products, but so far I do like the look of this and it smells lovely!

Hawaiian Tropic Protective Dry Oil – RRP £13.99 for a full size. Hawaiian Tropic is a really img_8440popular brand for sunscreen and it reminds me of distant holidays and summer months lazing in the sunshine. I have bought many of their oils and always buy at least one bottle every year so I was really happy to find this included in the box. This dry oil has a unique fragrance of exotic flora, fruit and natural ingredients including papaya and mango.

This dry oil helps to give a deep rich tan and I think speeds up the tanning process it is also water-resistant so it’s perfect for protecting your skin if you want a dip in the pool – or in my case, the kids paddling pool is about as exotic as I get these days!!

Absolute New York Velvet Lippie – RRP £4.93 in the colour Lolita. Liquid lipsticks are bang on trend right now with cosmetic companies all coming out with their own take and formula on them but I think this one is so similar to the Nyx Soft Matte lip creams. It’s pretty hard to tell them apart on swatching and formulation. I would say that the Nyx is more long-lasting though and for me personally I would stick with Nyx cosmetics for this kind of cream lipstick

Check out their other makeup products at www.absolutenyproducts.com

Revlon Dramatic Definition Mascara – Full size £9.99
Revlon have recently launched five different types of mascaras and Glossybox kindly let us select which one we wanted in our Glossybox. I chose the Dramatic Definition one as after using fLash eyelash serum recently my lashes have really grown so I wanted to add some definition to those long lashes!

Hairon Zero Crease Hair Tie – £3.99
I think this product is a little young for me if I’m honest, at almost 36 gone are the days where I wear pink plastic hair bands – however I will use this on my 3 year old daughter so not all is lost. The idea behind these bands is that the clever spiral design means it will never leave a kink in your hair.

So all in all I am happy with this months box for sure, I feel its does offer great value to the subscription fee and although both this month and last, I thought one of the items wasn’t that age appropriate for me, I’m still pretty happy. My favourite item is probably the mascara and I’m excited to try the Bee Good moisturiser.

You can sign up to Glossybox here for £10 a month + (P&P)

Thanks for reading and dont forget to subscribe to my blog and follow me on instagram! sig large

 

3 thoughts on “Glossybox May 2016 Glossy Getaway Box

Leave a Reply

